Berkeley Lab
Bringing Science Solutions to the World

Lab Pioneer in Synchrotron Techniques and Tools Receives DOE Secretary’s Award

Zahid Hussain received the Secretary’s Distinguished Service Award, one of the highest scientific honors given by Energy Secretary Rick Perry, recognizing “continuous and distinctive achievements … within or beyond an individual’s area of responsibility, which are of substantial value” to the DOE.

Eli Yablonovitch Wins 2019 Franklin Medal in Electrical Engineering

Berkeley Lab materials scientist Eli Yablonovitch is the recipient of the 2019 Benjamin Franklin Medal in Electrical Engineering. He was honored “for widely used scientific improvements to radio- and light-based technologies in wireless communications and solar energy applications.”